The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States. PC.DEL/970/23 14 July 2023

ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No. 1432 Vienna, 13 July 2023

EU Statement on the Presidential elections in Uzbekistan

- The European Union takes note of the Presidential elections held on Sunday 9 July in Uzbekistan. These elections were well prepared and took place in a calm environment with a high turnout.
- 2. We welcome the invitation given to OSCE/ODIHR to deploy a full international election observation mission, and take note of the Mission's preliminary findings, in particular that the election took place "in an environment where fundamental freedoms and the right to stand remain restricted." The EU regrets that a number of shortcomings undermined voters' ability to make an informed choice. We also take note of the Mission's preliminary finding that serious irregularities were observed by international observers during voting.
- 3. This election, which followed Uzbekistan's national referendum on a new Constitution on 30 April, showed a clear support for President Mirziyoyev and the reforms. The EU remains committed to support Uzbekistan in its endeavour to carry out democratic reforms and, in particular, to fully implement the recommendations of this and previous OSCE/ODIHR Election Observation Missions.
- 4. Uzbekistan is an important and valued partner of the European Union, and we look forward to continuing to strengthen our cooperation as we prepare to mark in 2024 the 30th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between the EU and Uzbekistan.

The Candidate Countries NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, SERBIA*, ALBANIA*, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, and BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA*, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area.

* North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.