ENGLISH only



OSCE Permanent Council No. 1434 Vienna, 20 July 2023

EU Statement on the ninth anniversary of the downing of Malaysia Airlines flight MH17 on 17 July 2014

- 1. On 17 July, we commemorated the ninth anniversary of the tragic downing of Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17, when 298 people of 17 different nationalities lost their lives. The European Union continues to feel deep sympathy for all those who lost their loved ones.
- 2. The European Union reiterates its full support for all efforts to establish the truth, achieving justice for the 298 victims of the downing of Flight MH17 and their next of kin and holding those responsible to account, in accordance with United Nations Security Council Resolution 2166.
- 3. On 23 June 2023, the European Union listed two individuals who took active part in Russia's military aggression against Ukraine from an early stage. In November 2022 these individuals were convicted for the downing of Flight MH17 by the Dutch District Court.
- 4. The European Union emphasises that the evidence presented by the Joint Investigative Team in the proceedings before the Dutch District Court and the European Court of Human Rights makes it clear the BUK installation used to bring down Flight MH17 belonged beyond doubt to the armed forces of the Russian Federation. In its admissibility ruling on 25 January 2023 in the case of Ukraine and the Netherlands v. Russia, the European Court on Human Rights was the first international court to confirm Russia's involvement in the downing of Flight MH17. The decision is final and will be followed by a judgment on the merits, at a later date.

5. Recalling its previous statements, the European Union takes note of all legal proceedings that are taking place in this regard and expects Russia to accept its responsibility and to fully cooperate with efforts to establish truth, justice and accountability for the victims and their next of kin.

The Candidate Countries NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, ALBANIA*, UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, and BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA*, the Potential Candidate Country GEORGIA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as SAN MARINO, and the OSCE Partner for Cooperation AUSTRALIA align themselves with this statement.

* North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.